Renting a boat in Florida is a very popular way to spend part of your vacation if you’re headed down to join us in the Sunshine State. We have thousands of waterways, lakes and ponds within our borders—to say nothing of the beaches on the Gulf of Mexico and Atlantic Ocean that we are so fortunate to have.
Our team of professionals at Cool Breeze Boats and Jet Ski Rentals knows these waterways inside and out—it’s the reason we went into this business. If you’re going to look into a boat rental while you’re here in Florida, then there’s a number of laws you should familiarize yourself with before you come. Boating laws in Venice, FL have a number of requirements depending on age, prior certifications and other factors, so we’ve outlined some broad tips for you here.
Certification might be necessary
There are some circumstances where boating laws in Venice, FL do not call for a boat user to undergo any sort of training. Being certified as a master of a vessel in the Coast Guard is one such exception, as is someone who has recently bought a vessel (within the past 90 days) and has proof of that purchase on board. There are a number of other exceptions that the staff at Cool Breeze Boats and Jet Ski Rentals can discuss with you, but just keep in mind that you might not need any certification.
If you do find that you require a certification to operate a boat in Florida, this entails taking a boat safety course that, upon successful completion, will grant you a Boating Safety Education Identification Card.
Temporary certificates can vary
If you’re traveling from another state and are at least 26 years of age, then you can get a temporary certificate to operate a boat while in Florida. These are issued by Florida vendors, so make sure you call us ahead of time and we can get you sorted out on getting that requirement squared away. However, these temporary certifications are just that—temporary. Boating laws in Venice, FL require you to get a permanent certificate after 90 days, which entails taking the boating safety course discussed above.
What if I took the course and didn’t receive my card yet?
If you took the course before you visited but did not get your certification card yet, have no fear. Boating laws in Venice, FL allow you to bring proof of having taken the boating safety certification course. Again, this is temporary and only good for 90 days, so make sure that you do everything you can to get your actual Boating Safety Education ID Card.
Boating safety laws in Florida exist for a very good reason, and Cool Breeze Boats and Jet Ski Rentals wants to make sure that this fun activity is safe and accessible for everybody who enjoys our waterways. Our team can make sure that you’ve done all the proper paperwork before you head out on the water, so be sure to give us a call ahead of your trip and we can help you get the ball rolling.
Categorised in: Boat Rental
This post was written by Writer